skip to primary navigationskip to content

Strapline competition winners

last modified Mar 31, 2016 11:55 AM
Strapline competition winners

Elena Gonzalez presenting two of the prize winners with their awards: Christopher Bawden and Prof Howard Chase

The department recently held a competition to help us come up with a list of key straplines. The objective was to come up with a list of different meaningful 'slogans' on important aspects related to our activities. These slogans will be used in departmental communications materials and templates and as 'teasers' in relevant website sections. 

The 3 categories were:

  1. Research
  2. Education (as related to teaching provisions and quality)
  3. Impact (Role of innovation, industry and development of technological solutions)

We're now delighted to confirm that the Judges (Lisa Hall, Patrick Barrie and Chris Lowe) have considered all the submissions and have made a decision on the winning straplines. It has been a tough call but as they found parts from different entries quite appealing, they have agreed to split the prizes in each category as follows:

Winning entries in the 'Education' Category:

  • With us, enter to learn and leave to achieve. (Hassan Rahmoune)
  • Preparing you to deliver industry's future. (Howard Chase)

Winning entries in the 'Impact' Category:

  • Translating discovery into reality. (Howard Chase)
  • Your challenge is our innovation. (Hassan Rahmoune)

Winning entries in the 'Research' Category:

  • Chemistry, Engineering and Biotechnology: striving in synergy for a bright and sustainable future. (Christopher Bawden)
  • Multidisciplinary excellence, from theory to application through collaboration - as one department. (Adam Colbourne)

Congratulations to all the winners (Hassan, Howard, Adam and Christopher). They have been awarded Amazon vouchers.

Thanks  to all of those who entered the competition, your contributions have been much appreciated, and to the Judges for offering their time to consider all the entries and giving their feedback!

Share this

RSS Feed Latest news

Professor Roland Clift awarded the George E Davis Medal

May 25, 2017

The highest honour of the Institution of Chemical Engineers

Graduate conference prize winners, 2017

May 17, 2017

Jacob Brown, Andrew McGuire, Rico Milkus, Andi Reci, Evaline Tsai and Sam Haddad

View all news

Upcoming events

CEB Research Conference

Jun 26, 2017

Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology, Philippa Fawcett Drive, West Cambridge site

Open Days for Year 12/13 (sixth form students)

Jul 06, 2017

Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology, Philippa Fawcett Drive, West Cambridge site

Upcoming events