CEB Academics Receive Biochemical Society Awards

Professor Róisín Owens & Assistant Professor Alexander Borodavka have been awarded the AstraZeneca Prize and the Colworth Medal, respectively

We are very pleased to announce that two of the Department of Chemical Engineering & Biotechnology's Academic Staff have been named in the 2025 Biochemical Society Awards.

Professor Róisín Owens, Professor of Bioelectronics and Principal Investigator of the BioElectronic System Technologies (B.E.S.T.) Group has been awarded the AstraZeneca Prize for her work at CEB. Her research focuses on developing integrated systems to monitor human biology in vitro


Prof. Róisín Owens

Professor Owens said;

"Having initially trained as a biochemist, I'm thrilled to receive this award. It makes me very satisfied to think that technologies developed by our team will be useful to researchers in academia and industry."
Professor Róisín Owens

The AstraZeneca Award is made once every three years and recognizes work in UK & Ireland laboratories that has led to the development of a new reagent or method in the Biomedical field.

Additionally, Assistant Professor Alexander Borodavka has been awarded the Colworth Medal by the Biochemical Society. He has been chosen as one of the most promising young Bioscience researchers based in the UK & Ireland. He has been selected owing to his research into the molecular mechanisms underpinning the RNA-controlled self-assembly of rotaviruses, which he continues at CEB.

Dr. Alexander Borodavka

Doctor Borodavka said;

'Receiving the Colworth Medal is an incredible honour and a testament to the dedication, curiosity, and collaborative spirit that has driven my research. As Richard Feynman once said, "The prize is the pleasure of finding the thing out, the kick in the discovery." '
Dr. Alexander Borodavka

Both prizes come with a cash prize, the opportunity to present a lecture to a Biochemical Society event, and an invitation to submit an article to one of the Society's publications.

CEB extends heartfelt congratulations to both of our winners.

You can find out more about the Biochemical Society on their website.