Guiding Future Strategies: Lynn Gladden Joins Faraday Institution Board

Today, it has been announced that Lynn Gladden has been appointed to the Faraday Institution's Board of Trustees.

Trinity College Cambridge

Board chair Professor Peter B. Littlewood warmly welcomed her appointment, saying, “It is with great pleasure that we welcome Professor Dame Lynn Gladden to the Board. As the former Executive Chair of EPSRC and Pro-Vice-Chancellor of Research at Cambridge, Lynn Gladden brings a huge body of insight and connections from the highest levels of the UK’s research landscape – expertise the organisation will draw upon as we further establish our position in the research ecosystem.”

Throughout her distinguished career, Lynn has achieved international recognition for her pioneering work in advancing magnetic resonance imaging techniques. Initially developed for medical applications, these techniques have been ingeniously adapted in her engineering research to delve deeper into the physical and chemical phenomena that govern the performance of chemical processes and their subsequent products.

Lynn's appointment aligns perfectly with her ongoing commitment to research, a trait she demonstrated during her tenure as Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research at Cambridge.

"Joining the Faraday Institution’s board is an exciting opportunity," shares Lynn. "I am enthusiastic about leveraging the insights and experiences I have acquired over my career to foster further the research and innovation that will contribute to a successful energy transition."

Beyond her new role at the Faraday Institution, Lynn also is also Chair of Judges for the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering, a testament to her dedication to advancing engineering and research in the UK.

As the Faraday Institution continues to push the frontiers of energy storage research and strategy, we at the Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology eagerly anticipate the transformative impact Lynn will bring to the Institution. We're incredibly proud of her achievements and look forward to witnessing her contributions to the broader research community.

Driven by curiosity. Driving change.