skip to primary navigationskip to content

Honour for Professor M M Sharma

photograph of Prof Sharma receiving his award Professor M M Sharma has been awarded the PADMA VIBHUSHAN. This is the second highest civilian honour awarded in India.

The photograph shows Professor Sharma (on the left) receiving the PADMA VIBHUSHAN from the President of India, Mr K.R. Narayanan. The ceremony was held on 21st March 2001.

Professor Sharma was a research student here in the Department of Chemical Engineering from 1961-64. He was supervised by Prof. P V Danckwerts and studied the kinetics of gas absorption. He has remained a good friend of the Department and has regularly kept in touch.

The Padma Vibhushan is awarded to recognize exceptional and distinguished service to the nation, in any field, including services rendered by government servants. The Padma Vibhushan was originally established by the President of India in January 1954. Other famous recipients of the medal are former ANC Deputy President and veteran anti-apartheid leader Walter Sisulu in 1998 and musicians Lata Mangeshkar and Bhimsen Joshi in 1999.

RSS Feed Latest news

SPARC success for CEB-India research collaboration

Feb 18, 2019

Scheme for Promotion of Academic and Research Collaboration (SPARC) grant awarded to CEB- Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee research collaboration.

Ineos Oxide Summer Intern Scheme launched at CEB

Feb 08, 2019

Ineos Oxide is looking for talented undergrad chemical engineering students to join their summer intern scheme and help them solve real-world problems.

New EPSRC Sensors CDT

Feb 05, 2019

New EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training in Sensor Technologies and Applications for a Healthy and Sustainable Future at CEB.

View all news

Upcoming events

Celebrating LGBT and History Month

Feb 01, 2019


Science Festival at CEB

Mar 23, 2019

CEB, Phillippa Fawcett Drive

Stokes200 Symposium

Sep 15, 2019

Pembroke College, Cambridge

VPF8 Viscoplastic Fluids: from Theory to Application 2019

Sep 16, 2019

Jesus College, Cambridge

Upcoming events