skip to content

Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology


On Monday 24 June 2002 the Chancellor of the University of Cambridge, HRH the Duke of Edinburgh, conferred honorary degrees at a traditional ceremony in the University's Senate House.

The honorary graduates this year are:

  • The Right Honourable Harry Kenneth Baron Woolf of Barnes, Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales (Degree of Doctor of Law)
  • Rhoda Dorsey, MA, of Newnham College, formerly of the American Friends of Cambridge University (Degree of Doctor of Law)
  • Mary Hesse, FBA, MA, Professor Emerita of the Philosophy of Science, Honorary Fellow of Wolfson College (Degree of Doctor of Science)
  • Timothy Hunt, FRS, PhD, Principal Scientist of Cancer Research UK, Honorary Fellow of Clare College, Nobel Laureate (Degree of Doctor of Science)
  • Marjorie Chibnall, FBA, PhD, Honorary Fellow of Girton College, Fellow of Clare Hall (Degree of Doctor of Letters)
  • Sir Bernard Williams, FBA, MA, Monroe Deutsch Professor of Philosophy in the University of California, Berkeley, Fellow and formerly Provost of King's College, and formerly Knightbridge Professor of Philosophy (Degree of Doctor of Letters)

An honorary degree is the highest honour that the University can bestow, and recognises outstanding personal achievement.

photo of the procession Head of the Department of Chemical Engineering, Professor Howard Chase, took part in the procession. He is accompanied by Dr Gillian Evans.

Latest news

Africans in STEM conference: opportunities and challenges

15 July 2019

The first Africans in STEM symposium held on 28 June 2019 in our department was aimed at celebrating African voices and ideas in STEM.

Annual conference highlights diverse impact of department research

4 July 2019

Our department Research Conference took place from 25-26 June, bringing together researchers from across the department, wider university, external institutions and industry.

Dr Janire Saez awarded Marie Curie Fellowship

14 June 2019

Dr Janire Saez awarded Marie Curie Fellowship for her work on organ-on-chip devices for cancer research.