skip to primary navigationskip to content

Design Project 2017 Prize Winners

last modified Jul 03, 2017 04:51 PM
Design Project 2017 Prize Winners

Group A

The winners of this year's prize for the best undergraduate design project presentation were Group A and Group O.

The members of Group A were Josh Evans, Krishnan Shah, Zoe Stavrinou and Tolu Taiwo-Ashaju.

Group O were Zachary Berenson-Barros, Hannah Bryson-Jones, Mudit Gupta and Sebastian Hunter.

They are shown in the photographs with Alex Walsh, one of the judges from ExxonMobil, who graduated from this department in 2001.

Group O
The project concerned the production of methyl ethyl ketone (MEK), also known as Butanone. MEK is an effective and common solvent. It is used in the manufacture of plastics and textiles and can be used as a cleaning agent. It is also used as a plastic welding agent, sold as "model cement" for use in connecting parts of scale model kits.

The Design Project is a major part of the coursework for Chemical Engineering students in their third year at Cambridge and this year, the project was supported by ExxonMobil.

In groups of 5 or 4, the students have just devoted five weeks to designing this plant. They handed in the final section of their reports on Thursday, 8 June 2017. Then on Friday, 9 June 2017, the groups gave 10 minute presentations as though they were presenting to senior company management such that a decision could be made whether to take the design forward to the next stage, or whether to abandon it.

The 'Design Team' (lecturers setting the project and guiding the students through it) was made up of Drs Bart Hallmark, Carmine D'Agostino, Alex Routh, and Mark Williamson.

The judges were the design team (with Pierre Bräuer substituting for Carmine D'Agostino) plus Alex Walsh and Supriya Gopinath from Exxon Mobil.

The winners received a cash prize of £250 per group.

The whole year group
Filed under: