skip to primary navigationskip to content

Design Project winners 2018

last modified Jun 11, 2018 03:39 PM
Design Project winners 2018

Click on the image to see a larger version

Congratulations to the winners of this year's prize for the best undergraduate design project presentation: Group A and Group K.

The members of Group A were Liam Emmett, Amy Felgate, Eugenio Fenoaltea Pieche, Felix Laing and Akshay Shah.

Group K were Babar Arshad, Andrew Camsell, Emma Catlow, Animit Kulkarni and Ze Kai Tan.

They are shown in the photographs with Bill Cotton, representing the project supporter Johnson Matthey (JM). Bill is a Principle Engineer with JM in Billingham working on methane reforming technologies and also leads the company's engineering undergraduate training programme.

The project concerned the production of hydrogen from natural gas. The hydrogen would then be used in a combined cycle gas turbine (CCGT) power plant to generate electricity. The hydrogen was manufactured from natural gas using a combination of auto-thermal reforming (ATR) and carbon monoxide shift.

In groups of 5 or 4, the students have just devoted five weeks to designing this plant. They handed in the final section of their reports on Thursday, 7 June 2018. Then on Friday, 8 June 2018, the groups gave 10 minute presentations as though they were presenting to senior company management such that a decision could be made whether to take the design forward to the next stage, or whether to abandon it.

The 'Design Team' (lecturers setting the project and guiding the students through it) was made up of Drs Bart Hallmark, David Fairen-Jimenez, Mark Williamson and Prof. Alex Routh.

The judges were the design team, Bill Cotton, Bob Skelton, Chris Ness and Patrick Barrie.

The winners received a cash prize of £250 per group.

The whole year group

Share this

RSS Feed Latest news

Scientific heirloom awarded to Dr Owens

Mar 13, 2019

Dr Róisín Owens recognised at the Engineering & Physical Sciences Suffrage Science Awards at the Royal Society on International Women’s Day 2019.

International Women's Day celebration at CEB

Mar 11, 2019

Department members rallied around to celebrate International Women's Day with a specially designed cake.

Andrew Fellowship awarded to Dr Zheng

Mar 06, 2019

Dr Qingyuan Zheng awarded the Andrew Fellowship by the IChemE

View all news

Upcoming events

Science Festival at CEB

Mar 23, 2019

CEB, Phillippa Fawcett Drive

Machine learning and AI in (bio)chemical engineering

Jul 08, 2019

Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology, Philippa Fawcett Drive, Cambridge, CB3 0AS

Stokes200 Symposium

Sep 15, 2019

Pembroke College, Cambridge

Upcoming events