skip to primary navigationskip to content

Design Project winners

last modified Jan 27, 2014 02:54 PM
Design Project winners

Alan Stanford from IChemE with Mishu Heatman, Iain Cheetham, Christopher Arnott, Chao (Ivy) Liu, Stanislaw Pstrokonski, Edward Thien and Nazneen Molu

The winners of this year's prize for the best undergraduate design project presentation were Karen Sim, Christopher Arnott, Nazneen Molu, Iain Cheetham, Stanislaw Pstrokonski, Chao (Ivy) Liu, Edward Thien and Mishu Heatman (Group D).

The Design Project is a major part of the coursework for Chemical Engineering students in their third year at Cambridge. This year, the brief was to design a plant to produce an organophosphate herbicide, n-phosphonomethylglycine (PMG) at a purity greater than 95% on a mass basis at a rate of 20,000 metric tonnes per year.

In groups of 7 or 8, they have just devoted five weeks to designing this plant. They handed in their reports on Thursday, 3 June 2010 and gave their 15 minute presentations on the process on Friday, 4 June 2010.

The judges were Martin Tooley from Dow and Alan Stanford, the IChemE East Anglian branch secretary. They commended all the groups on the high standard of their designs and presentations and said how difficult that had made the decision. They congratulated the winners, who will receive a prize of £200 to share between them.