skip to content

Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology

Design Project Winners

The winners of this year's prize for the best undergraduate design project presentation were Akshay Deshmukh, James Perry, Pawel Jajesniak, Charles Macmillan, Donna Golach, Katherine Suddaby and Lutong Guo (Group D).

The Design Project is a major part of the coursework for Chemical Engineering students in their third year at Cambridge and this year, the project was supported by BP. The brief was to design a process to produce 100,000 tonnes of biobutanol per annum from a wheat feedstock, by the ABE (acetone,butanol,ethanol) fermentation process.

In groups of 6 or 7, they have just devoted five weeks to designing this plant. They handed in their reports on Thursday, 7 June 2012 and gave their 10 minute presentations on the process on Friday, 8 June 2012.

The judges were Alan Stanford, the IChemE East Anglian branch secretary, Dr Alan Clegg, a committee member from the IChemE's East Anglia branch and Matt Turnbull from BP. They commended all the groups on the high standard of their designs and commented on the professionalism and honesty of the presentations. They congratulated the winners, who were presented with a cash prize of £250 to share between them.

The runners up were Group I and Group E.  The members of Group I were Dominic de'Ath, Fei Teng, Tim Beeson-Jones, Julia Engstrom, Phoebe Cheung, Marina Steketee and Daniel Marron. Group E was Suhan Wang, David Baynard, Peter Wilcock, Jessica Fish, Chieh Lung Ng and Tom Dalton.

There are more photos on the department's Facebook page.

Latest news

Dr Ioanna Mela awarded funding from the National Biofilm Innovation Centre

4 June 2020

Dr Ioanna Mela, a Postdoctoral Research Associate working in the Laser Analytics Group with Prof Clemens Kaminski, has been awarded funding from the National Biofilm Innovation Centre, 3rd Proof of Concept Call, to investigate the potential of DNA nanostructures against oral biofilms.

New insight into protein misfolding could open up novel approaches to treat Parkinson’s disease

4 June 2020

A cross-institutional team of researchers, led by the University of Cambridge, have uncovered a link between the structure of the protein alpha-synuclein and its likelihood to misfold and aggregate.

New paper on DNA nanostructures as a tool for targeted antimicrobial delivery

1 May 2020

Dr Ioanna Mela’s paper on DNA nanostructures that can specifically target bacteria has been published by Angewandte Chemie.