skip to primary navigationskip to content

Design Project winners 2011

last modified Apr 20, 2016 04:11 PM
Design Project winners 2011

Front row: Helen Breewood, Calvin Cheung, Alexander Smith, Vinayak Rajendran. Back row: Dr Alan Clegg, Alan Stanford, Latoja Jack (all representing IChemE) and Ian Salmon (Jacobs)

The winners of this year's prize for the best undergraduate design project presentation were Helen Breewood, Henry Chan, Calvin Cheung, Vinayak Rajendran and Alexander Smith (Group G).

The Design Project is a major part of the coursework for Chemical Engineering students in their third year at Cambridge and this year, the project was sponsored by Aker Clean Carbon. The brief was to design a process to remove at least 80% of the carbon dioxide from the flue gas of a gas-fired power plant. The carbon dioxide was removed by monoethanolamine scrubbing.

In groups of 5 or 6, they have just devoted five weeks to designing this plant. They handed in their reports on Thursday, 9 June 2011 and gave their 10 minute presentations on the process on Friday, 10 June 2011.

The judges were Ian Salmon from Jacobs and Alan Stanford, the IChemE East Anglian branch secretary, Dr Alan Clegg, a committee member from the IChemE's East Anglia branch and Latoja Jack representing both Aveva and IChemE. They commended all the groups on the high standard of their designs and presentations and said how difficult that had made the decision. They congratulated the winners, who will receive a prize of £250 to share between them.

The runners up were Group C and Group H.  The members of Group C were Heng Ji Chan, Alison Underwood, Steven Wildman, Ritika Sood, Adam Wills and Ka (Gary) Wu. Group H was James Rickenbach, Alexander Rose, Mgawa Mkandawire, Emma Mitchell and Vaishnavi Girish.

There are more photos on the department's Facebook page.

Share this

RSS Feed Latest news

Machine learning predicts mechanical properties of porous materials

May 16, 2019

Machine learning can be used to predict the properties of a group of materials that, according to some, could be as important to the 21st century as plastics were to the 20th.

Alumna Fiona Erskine publishes “The Chemical Detective” book

May 10, 2019

Chemical Engineering alumna and writer Fiona Erskine publishes “The Chemical Detective”, a crime thriller with a chemical engineering protagonist.

New approach to drug discovery could lead to personalised treatment of neuropsychiatric disorders

May 09, 2019

Researchers from our Centre for Neuropsychiatric Research have developed a method that could drastically accelerate the search for new drugs to treat mental health disorders such as schizophrenia.

View all news

Upcoming events

CEB Research Conference 2019

Jun 25, 2019

Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology, Philippa Fawcett Drive, Cambridge, CB3 0AS

Machine learning and AI in (bio)chemical engineering

Jul 08, 2019

Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology, Philippa Fawcett Drive, Cambridge, CB3 0AS

Stokes200 Symposium

Sep 15, 2019

Pembroke College, Cambridge

VPF8 Viscoplastic Fluids: from Theory to Application 2019

Sep 16, 2019

Jesus College, Cambridge

Upcoming events