skip to primary navigationskip to content

Dr Markus Kraft and Dr Robert Patterson receive the Ricardo award

last modified Jan 23, 2014 11:31 AM
Dr Markus Kraft and Dr Robert Patterson receive the Ricardo award

Markus Kraft and Robert Patterson

During the Institute of Physics' Spring meeting on "Combustion Theory and Modelling" held in London on the 24th of June, Dr Markus Kraft and Dr. Robert Patterson received the Ricardo award for best UK paper in 2007: Models for the aggregate structure of soot particles, Combustion and Flame, 151, 160-172, 2007. 

The award acknowledges significant technological advance or significance of the contribution in advancing understanding at a fundamental level, and is awarded annually. The prize is £250 and is accompanied by a certificate. 

In addition the "Huw Edwards Prize for Services to Combustion Physics" for 2009 was awarded to Prof Graham Dixon-Lewis, and a dinner to mark these awards was held on the evening of Tuesday the 23rd of June.

The paper presents new bivariate models for soot particle structure. It can be downloaded from the group's website or, alternatively, may be found through Science Direct.

The Combustion Physics Group provides a forum for the discussion of the physical aspects of flames, ignition, detonation and related topics. It is concerned with these issues both at a fundamental level and in the context of the practical use of wanted combustion processes in engines, boilers and other systems and unwanted combustion in the form of fires and explosions. Emphasis on the physical aspects of combustion is continuing to increase rapidly. The Group was formed in 1973 and current membership comprises a good mix of industrialists and academics.

Further information