skip to primary navigationskip to content

Graduate conference prize winners, 2017

last modified Jul 03, 2017 04:53 PM
Jacob Brown, Andrew McGuire, Rico Milkus, Andi Reci, Evaline Tsai and Sam Haddad
Graduate conference prize winners, 2017

Prof John Dennis (left) with Andrew McGuire, Andi Reci, Evaline Tsai, Rico Milkus, Sam Haddad and Jacob Brown. Click on the image to see a larger version.

Prizes for best presentations and posters at the Graduate student conference were presented by Head of Department Professor John Dennis at a gathering on 17 May 2017.

Third year PhD students gave presentations and the three prize winners for best papers were Jacob Brown, Andrew McGuire and Rico Milkus.

The first prize went to Jacob Brown for his work on Fluid Phases in Catalyst Nanopores. The project takes a look at how gases and liquids behave in catalyst particles and how these phases might affect reaction rates, selectivities and the overall productivity of catalytic reactors. Some interesting phenomena including surface diffusion and co-operative adsorption were directly observed in the study. He is supervised by Prof Lynn Gladden.

The second prize went to Andrew McGuire for A high-dimensional, mechanistic model for twin-screw granulation. His research focuses on using stochastic population balance methods to predict and control the physical properties of twin-screw granular products within the pharmaceutical industry. He is supervised by Prof Markus Kraft.

The third prize went to Rico Milkus, Non-affine lattice dynamics of disordered systems. He says, "The main focus of our research is to connect the macroscopic quantities of our model systems to their microscopic structure with the goal of deriving general relations that can be used to study real materials." He is supervised by Dr Alessio Zaccone.

During the Third Year Graduate Conference, Second year PhD students presented posters. The three prize winners for best posters were Andi Reci, Evaline Tsai and Sam Haddad.

The first prize went to Andi Reci for his work on Experimental evidence of velocity profile inversion in developing laminar flow using MRI. He says, "The presented poster is somewhat unrelated to my main area of research which concerns the development of acquisition and processing techniques to enhance chemical, spatial and temporal resolution in NMR and MRI." He is supervised by Prof Lynn Gladden.

The second prize went to Evaline Tsai for Upconversion Nanoparticle-Anthraquinone Sensors for Measuring pH. Her research is about the design of a pH nanosensor that avoids problems of photobleaching and autofluorescence by taking advantage of near-infrared excitation with the use of upconversion nanoparticles. She is supervised by Prof Lisa Hall.

The third prize went to Sam Haddad for Tuning the endocytosis mechanism of Zr-based MOFs through linker functionalisation. He says, "A critical bottleneck for the use of metal-organic frameworks (MOFs) as drug delivery systems has been allowing them to reach their intracellular targets without being degraded in the acidic environment of the lysosomes. Cells take up particles by endocytosis through multiple biochemical pathways, and the fate of these particles depends on these routes of entry. My research focuses on showing the effect of functional group incorporation into a series of Zr-based MOFs on their endocytosis mechanisms, allowing the design of an efficient drug delivery system." He is supervised by Dr David Fairen-Jimenez.

The Graduate student conference took place on Monday 24th April and Tuesday 25th April 2017.

Filed under: