skip to primary navigationskip to content

IChemE awards for innovation and excellence 2010

last modified Jan 27, 2014 04:48 PM
IChemE awards for innovation and excellence 2010

Ssegawa-Ssekintu Kiwanuka with sports presenter Ray Stubbs, one of the hosts of the event

Members of this department were shortlisted for the IChemE awards for innovation and excellence 2010 and they attended the awards ceremony on Thursday, 4 November 2010, at the Palace Hotel, Manchester, UK.

The IChemE awards recognise and reward chemical engineering innovation and excellence. Now in their 17th year, they celebrate both individual and team achievement.

Ssegawa-Ssekintu Kiwanuka with sports presenter Mark Lawrenson, one of the hosts of the eventSsegawa-Ssekintu Kiwanuka, the youngest ever nominee in the history of the awards at 23, gained 3rd place in the young engineer of the year award, which was sponsored by GSK. This award recognises the individual under the age of 30 who best demonstrates his/her achievements and tangible application of chemical, biochemical and/or process engineering skills to address important economic, environmental or social issues. The winner was Siobhan Mobberley, from AstraZeneca, UK and Haley Lim, from BP came second.

The photo shows Ssegawa-Ssekintu Kiwanuka with sports presenter Mark Lawrenson, one of the hosts of the event.

AwardDepartment spin off company Enval was in the running for two awards. Enval received the highly commended mention in the Sustainability Technology Award forDevelopment of recycling process for laminate packaging and they were also short-listed (finalist) in the Best Engineering Project of the Year.

The sustainable technology award recognises the project or process that best demonstrates innovation in waste reduction, recycling, reuse or the lengthening of product lifecycles and is sponsored by ABB Global Consulting.

The engineering project of the year award recognises the best engineering or business project that demonstrates innovation, successful delivery and a technical, commercial, safety/environmental or other operational benefit. It is sponsored by EEMUA (Engineering Equipment and Materials Users' Association).

Dr Carlos Ludlow-Palafox and Professor Howard Chase developed the basis of the Enval process for recycling laminated packaging waste. Their technology extracts commercially usable aluminium, oil and gas from laminated packaging waste, such as drink cartons (e.g. Tetra Pak), food pouches, and toothpaste tubes, allowing the waste to be completely recycled in an economically viable way.

Dr Ludlow-Palafox attended the ceremony with Martin Lamb (Chairman of Enval) and David Boorman (Business Development Manager).