skip to primary navigationskip to content

Marijke Fagan takes her science to Parliament

last modified Jan 29, 2014 04:04 PM
Marijke Fagan takes her science to Parliament

Marijke Fagan

Marijke Fagan, 25, a Chemical Engineering PhD student in this department, was shortlisted from hundreds of applicants to attend Parliament as part of SET for Britain on Monday 18 March 2013. She presented her work to a range of politicians and a panel of expert judges.

Marijke's poster describes the development of specialist magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) methods which may be used to study liquid distribution in low grade copper ore heap leaching systems. It was judged against dozens of other engineers' research in the only national competition of its kind.

On presenting her engineering research in Parliament, she said, "It was a wonderful opportunity to meet many other young engineering researchers from across Britain, all working on a huge variety of topics, and a privilege to be invited to present my work at such a historic venue."

Andrew Miller MP, Chairman of the Parliamentary and Scientific Committee, said, "This annual competition is an important date in the parliamentary calendar because it gives MPs an opportunity to speak to a wide range of the country’s best young researchers. 

"These early career engineers are the architects of our future and SET for Britain is politicians’ best opportunity to meet them and understand their work."

Marijke's research was entered into the Engineering session of the competition, at the end of which was a gold, silver and bronze prize-giving ceremony. Judged by leading academics, the gold medalist received £3,000, while silver and bronze received £2,000 and £1,000 respectively. The bronze prize was awarded to another Cambridge PhD student, George Gordon of the Department of Electrical Engineering, for his poster entitled 'Mode-division multiplexing for ultrafast optical fibre communications'.

The Parliamentary and Scientific Committee run the event in collaboration with the Institute of Physics, The Physiological Society, the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Royal Society of Chemistry, the Society of Biology and the Society of Chemical Industry, with financial support from BP, Airbus/EADS, INEOS, AgChemAccess, Essar, the Institute of Biomedical Science, GAMBICA and WMG.