skip to primary navigationskip to content

Michelle Teplensky wins Silver medal

last modified Mar 14, 2018 10:37 AM
STEM for BRITAIN at the Houses of Parliament
Michelle Teplensky wins Silver medal

Dr Stephen Benn, Michelle Teplensky, Dr Helen Pain, Stephen Metcalfe MP. Full caption at end of article. Click on image to see larger version.

PhD student Michelle Teplensky came away with the Silver medal at a competition in the House of Commons, for the excellence of her  research.

Michelle presented her research to dozens of politicians and a panel of expert judges, as part of the poster competition STEM for BRITAIN, on Monday 12 March 2018.

Her research was judged against 29 other shortlisted researchers’ work and came out as one of the three winners. She received the Silver medal and a prize of £1,250.

The work she presented was themes from her PhD research - how a new type of platform material (MOFs) could be utilised to improve cancer therapy. 
She explained

  1. the issues with current cancer treatments and the desire to repurpose them using a carrier as well as
  2. the emerging form of personalised therapy using genes to knockdown cancer oncogene expression and the ability to use MOFs as a protector of these fragile compounds.

On taking part in the event, Michelle said, "The initiative caught my eye because I was intrigued by the idea that I could interact with someone in government and show that the application of our research is really connected to everyone – it's not something you need to be an expert to understand."

On receiving Silver, she said, "I honestly wasn't expecting anything. Everyone in there is so talented and there's such really impressive research, so it was really nice to just be a part of it. I was very surprised!"

STEM for BRITAIN aims to help politicians understand more about the UK’s thriving science and engineering base and rewards some of the strongest scientific and engineering research being undertaken in the UK.

Stephen Metcalfe MP, Chair of the Parliamentary & Scientific Committee, sponsors of the chemistry awards said: "The Parliamentary & Scientific Committee is delighted to sponsor the chemistry awards.  This annual competition is an important date in the parliamentary calendar because it gives MPs an opportunity to speak to a wide range of the country’s best young researchers.

"These early career engineers, mathematicians and scientists are the architects of our future and STEM for BRITAIN is politicians’ best opportunity to meet them and understand their work."

The Royal Society of Chemistry’s deputy chief executive, Dr Helen Pain, presented the prizes. She said: "Each year we look forward to the competition as a fantastic chance to recognise and celebrate some of our most talented young scientists. It’s also a great way for our elected representatives to hear first-hand about some of the exciting research that is happening here in the UK.

"I’d like to take this opportunity to congratulate all of our STEM for Britain finalists. We clearly have the necessary talent and inspiration to keep the UK at the forefront of global science."

The Parliamentary and Scientific Committee runs the event in collaboration with the Council for the Mathematical Sciences, the Institute of Physics, The Physiological Society, the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Royal Society of Biology and the Royal Society of Chemistry; with financial support from Research Councils UK, Warwick Manufacturing Group, the Clay Mathematics Institute, the Heilbronn Institute for Mathematical Research, the Nutrition Society, the Institute of Biomedical Science and the Society of Chemical Industry.


Full image caption: Dr Stephen Benn, Vice President, Parliamentary & Scientific Committee, Michelle Teplensky, Dr Helen Pain, Deputy Chief Executive, Royal Society of Chemistry, Stephen Metcalfe MP, Chair, Parliamentary & Scientific Committee.


Filed under: ,

Share this

RSS Feed Latest news

Scientific heirloom awarded to Dr Owens

Mar 13, 2019

Dr Róisín Owens recognised at the Engineering & Physical Sciences Suffrage Science Awards at the Royal Society on International Women’s Day 2019.

International Women's Day celebration at CEB

Mar 11, 2019

Department members rallied around to celebrate International Women's Day with a specially designed cake.

Andrew Fellowship awarded to Dr Zheng

Mar 06, 2019

Dr Qingyuan Zheng awarded the Andrew Fellowship by the IChemE

View all news

Upcoming events

Science Festival at CEB

Mar 23, 2019

CEB, Phillippa Fawcett Drive

Machine learning and AI in (bio)chemical engineering

Jul 08, 2019

Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology, Philippa Fawcett Drive, Cambridge, CB3 0AS

Stokes200 Symposium

Sep 15, 2019

Pembroke College, Cambridge

Upcoming events