skip to primary navigationskip to content

Postgraduate Prize Winners

last modified Jan 29, 2014 09:32 AM
Postgraduate Prize Winners

Front row: Ipshita Mandal, Jessica Ocampos Colina, Mariana Domingos, Marco Saucedo Martinez. Middle row: Nadia Tsao, Nicholas Tan, Polly Keen. Back row: Frieder Haenisch, Oliver Bartlett, Robert Pott

On Wednesday, 30 May 2012, a drinks reception was held at the Department and prizes were awarded to postgraduate students.

First year students have been giving presentations over the last few weeks and the prizes for best presentations went to Ipshita Mandal, Jessica Ocampos Colina, Frieder Haenisch, Nicholas Tan and Nadia Tsao.

The second year students gave presentations and prepared posters in February and the prizes for best posters went to Oliver Bartlett and Polly Keen.

The third year Graduate Conference took place on 24th and 25th April and the prizes for best presentations went to Mariana Domingos, Robert Pott and Marco Saucedo Martinez.

Their research projects are:
Ipshita Mandal: Novel matrices for In-Process Biopharmaceutical Manufacturing
Jessica Ocampos Colina: Polymer-mediated delivery system for mammalian cell biopreservation
Frieder Haenisch: Identification of a molecular signature for bipolar disorder versus closely related psychiatric disorders
Nicholas Tan: Microstructure analysis of catalysts using terahertz spectroscopy and imaging
Nadia Tsao: Microbubbles for Ultrasound Triggered Delivery
Oliver Bartlett: Multiphase flow validation using Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) 
Polly Keen: Encapsulation of microorganisms in colloidosomes 
Mariana Domingos: Turbulent plumes and thermals with chemical reaction
Robert Pott: The conversion of crude glycerol from the biodiesel industry into hydrogen using photosynthetic bacteria
Marco Saucedo Martinez: The gasification of fossil fuels in the presence of iron-based oxygen carriers for chemical looping combustion

There are more photos on Facebook.

Share this

RSS Feed Latest news

Scientific heirloom awarded to Dr Owens

Mar 13, 2019

Dr Róisín Owens recognised at the Engineering & Physical Sciences Suffrage Science Awards at the Royal Society on International Women’s Day 2019.

International Women's Day celebration at CEB

Mar 11, 2019

Department members rallied around to celebrate International Women's Day with a specially designed cake.

Andrew Fellowship awarded to Dr Zheng

Mar 06, 2019

Dr Qingyuan Zheng awarded the Andrew Fellowship by the IChemE

View all news

Upcoming events

Science Festival at CEB

Mar 23, 2019

CEB, Phillippa Fawcett Drive

Machine learning and AI in (bio)chemical engineering

Jul 08, 2019

Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology, Philippa Fawcett Drive, Cambridge, CB3 0AS

Stokes200 Symposium

Sep 15, 2019

Pembroke College, Cambridge

Upcoming events