skip to primary navigationskip to content

Research Project winners 2015

last modified May 13, 2015 12:41 PM
Research Project winners 2015

Five of the eight winners with Prof Nigel Slater: Supriya Gopinath, Caroline Varga, Kripa Balachandran, James Fountain and Xian Yao Chan. Click on the image to view it full screen.

Research projects are a major part of the coursework for Chemical Engineering students in their fourth year at Cambridge, leading to the MEng degree. The students are required to undertake a piece of original research in pairs or singly. In addition to a final report on their work, they are required to give a 6 minute presentation and produce a poster. There were two sessions, on Tuesday, 24th February and Tuesday, 3rd March 2015.

On the first day, the First Prize winners were Andi Reci and Chung Ting Lao with their project Lifting a buried object in granular material. They compared the results of experiments that they conducted with a theory developed last year in this department regarding the force that is needed to uplift a buried circular plate.

The second prize went to Xian Yao Chan and Rajan Bhopal for Dry Water : Applications in Oral Vaccine Delivery.  They were looking at the possibility of using dry water to rehydrate live dried bacteria to regain the bacteria's bile tolerance.

On the second day, the First Prize winners were Supriya Gopinath and Caroline Varga for their project, Characterisation of zirconia sensors in a novel application."  Their work involved involved testing the hypothesis that zirconia oxygen sensors may be used to infer humidity levels in direct-fired processes.

The second prize went to James Fountain and Kripa Balachandran for Membrane Permeabalisation of Mammalian Cells for Cryopreservation.
This involved investigating new methods to improve the viability of mammalian cells after cryopreservation for a wide variety of applications such as stem cell treatment, fertility treatment and organ transplants. A trehalose cryoprotectant was investigated as a replacement for the toxic Dimethyl Sulfoxide cryoprotectant used in current cryopreservation protocol.

Filed under: