MPhil by Research

A one-year research degree that may count towards the entrance requirements for PhD study

© Martin Bond

© Martin Bond

The Department offers a one-year MPhil by research degree, which is formally known as the "MPhil in Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology".

The MPhil is a research degree, and the qualification may count towards the entrance requirements for Ph.D. study. Applicants are advised that almost without exception students commence their MPhil studies with the intention of later applying to pursue the higher degree.  Please note, however, that the degree does not 'convert' to a PhD; students wishing to later pursue a PhD must make a new application for PhD study.

Students progress their research projects under academic supervision for one year, and at the conclusion of their studies are examined by thesis and oral examination. Prospective students are invited to consider their research interests in the light of the specialisms of our senior academics and the department’s on-going research activities. 


Applicants will normally have studied chemical engineering, biological science, engineering, chemistry, applied mathematics, physics or a related subject at undergraduate level and have achieved the minimum of a high Upper Second Class Honours degree or equivalent international qualification.


Before making a formal application for this course, please consult the list below of groups that are able to take on 1-year research students; only academics/groups listed are able to accept applications our MPhil in Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology course.


The University Postgraduate Prospectus provides comprehensive information about the course, the admissions process, application deadlines, tuition fees and other costs.  Occasionally studentships may be available for highly qualified applicants, covering tuition fees and maintenance costs for eligible students.

Research Groups

Groups/academics accepting applications* for the MPhil in Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology course (*availability can change over the course of the year; please contact the group head in the first instance):

Sebastian Ahnert’s group -- Structural Complexity

Graham Christie’s group  -- Molecular Microbiology

Adrian Fisher’s group  -- Electrochemical and Microengineering

Dr Ljiljana Fruk's group -- Bionano Engineering

Séamus Higson’s group  -- Bio-analytical Chemistry and Energy Systems

Gabi Kaminski’s group -- Molecular Neuroscience

Markus Kraft’s group -- Computational Modelling

Ewa Marek's group -- Energy Reactions and Carriers

Róisín Owen’s group -- Bioelectronic Systems Technology

Laura Torrente’s group -- Catalysis and Process Integration

Ian Wilson’s group -- Particles, Soft Solids and Surfaces

Axel Zeitler’s group  --  Terahertz Applications

© Martin Bond

© Martin Bond

Back to study with us

Explore our undergraduate course, taught postgraduate programmes, and research opportunities.

Driven by curiosity. Driving change.