skip to primary navigationskip to content

Professor Markus Kraft

Professor Markus Kraft

Professor of Chemical Engineering

CARES Director

Combustion, Applied Energy, Artificial Intelligence

Office Phone: 762784


Dipl.-Math. techn., Dr. rer. nat., MA, ScD, FIChemE

Fellow of IChemE, 2018

Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel-Forschungspreis, 2016 

DFG Mercator Fellow, 2012

Ricardo Award, Institute of Physics, 2009

Gaydon Prize, Combustion Institute (BS), 2006

Beilby Medal, RSC, 2006

Royal Academy of Engineering - Leverhulme Trust Senior Research Fellowship, 2005

Sugden Award, Combustion Institute (BS), 2004

Research Interests

Computational Modelling group

Prof Markus Kraft is a Fellow of Churchill College Cambridge and Professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology. He is the director of CARES ltd., the Singapore-Cambridge CREATE Research Centre. He is also a principal investigator of “Cambridge Centre for Carbon Reduction in Chemical Technology (C4T)”.  He obtained the academic degree 'Diplom Technomathematiker' at the University of Kaiserslautern in 1992 and completed his Doctor rerum naturalium in Technical Chemistry at the same University in 1997. Subsequently, he worked at the University of Karlsruhe and the Weierstrass Institute for Applied Analysis and Stochastics in Berlin. In 1999 he became a lecturer in the Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Cambridge. He has a strong interest in the area of computational modelling and optimisation targeted towards developing carbon abatement and emissions reduction technologies for the automotive, power and chemical industries. Together with his research students he has also contributed significantly towards the detailed modelling of combustion synthesis of organic and inorganic nanoparticles and worked on engine simulation, spray drying and the granulation of fine powders.


  • Combustion
  • Optimization
  • particle technology
  • Bio-fuels
  • soot
  • nanoparticle synthesis
  • Process Systems Engineering

Not here?

Any new members of the department who are not listed here should please fill in