skip to primary navigationskip to content

New academic year

last modified Jan 30, 2014 11:56 AM
New academic year

Prof Nigel Slater welcoming new postgraduates

Full Michaelmas term began on Tuesday, 2 October 2012 and new students have been arriving all week.

We now have 66 new undergraduates, 40 new PhD students and 26 new MPhil ACE students. On Thursday, 4 October, Head of Department Professor Nigel Slater welcomed the new postgraduate students at a drinks reception and wished them every success in their studies here.

Prof DavidsonMoving from the very newest members of department to the most senior, this week we would also like to congratulate Professor John Davidson, who has now been with the department for 60 years! He joined the department as a University Demonstrator in 1952 and worked his way up to become Head of Department from 1975 until 1993, when he retired. He is now an Emeritus Professor.

Chris RuttThe start of the academic year also marked the retirement of Electronics technician Chris Rutt.

A gathering was held recently and Prof Nigel Slater presented him with a card and gift.

We wish him a long and happy retirement.

Finally, this week also marks the release of a new CEBFocus newsletter.